Board of Directors

Sister Anne Anderson

Chair of the SJHS Board of Directors, Sister Anne has been a past President of the Catholic Health Association of Ontario and member of the Board of Directors of the Catholic Health Association of Canada. She was appointed as President and Vice Chancellor of the University of St. Michael’s College (USMC) in Toronto in January 2009 and has previously served there as Interim President since July 2008 in addition to her duties as the Dean, Faculty of Theology. Sister Anne has been a member of the Sisters of St. Joseph of Hamilton since 1958, and served the Congregation as General Councilor and General Treasurer from 1999-2009.

Lu CacioppoLu Cacioppo

Lu is a CPA and is the National Managing Partner, SME for Deloitte Private in Canada.  Lu has been a resident of the Hamilton area for most of his life and believes in giving back to the community.  He is on the board of the Canadian Accredited Independent Schools, the Dr. Bob Kemp Hospice, past president of the Sons of Italy Trieste Lodge and a former Board member of Villa Italia along with many other community focused initiatives.

Shawn CliffordShawn Clifford

Shawn is Vice-President of Commercial Services at Meridian Credit Union. Meridian is Ontario’s largest credit union serving more than a quarter of a million Members. Shawn holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Western Ontario and earned his master’s in business administration from McGill University. With his wife and two daughters, he resides in the Royal City, Guelph Ontario. Shawn is very active in the local community and serves on the Board of Trustees of St. Joseph’s Health Centre (past Chair).

Bishop CrosbyBishop Douglas Crosby

Bishop Douglas Crosby, OMI, was born in Marathon, Ontario. He was ordained a priest with the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate in 1975, and over the years accepted a variety of ministries, including Provincial Superior of St. Peter’s Province of the Oblates. He was ordained a bishop in 1998 and served as Bishop of Labrador City-Schefferville Diocese. In 2003 he was appointed Bishop of St. George’s Diocese (Newfoundland and Labrador ), while continuing to serve as Bishop of Labrador. Following a realignment of the boundaries, he became the first Bishop of Corner Brook and Labrador in 2007. Bishop Crosby was appointed Bishop of Hamilton on September 24, 2010, and took possession of the Diocese on November 8, 2010, during a ceremony at the Cathedral of Christ the King.

Roger FultonRoger Fulton 

Roger is Executive VP Human Resources, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary of Linamar Corporation. Born and raised in St. Catharines, Ontario, Roger received his Honours BA from McMaster University and his law degree from the University of Western Ontario. Roger is a member of the Law Society of Upper Canada and the Canadian Bar Association. 

Kieron Hayes

Kieron entered the investment industry in 1995 and has spent the last 13 years at RBC Dominion Securities successfully managing the complex needs of sophisticated retail and institutional clients. Kieron is a member of RBC Wealth Management’s prestigious Chairman’s Council, recognizing his strong business standards.  Kieron has been active in the not-for-profit sector for over 12 years. He has advised charitable foundations and not-for-profit organizations as clients as well as served on numerous boards. He is past chair of St. Joseph’s Healthcare Foundation and has been a member and chair of their Investment Committee, Governance, Finance and Audit committees. Kieron has also been an active member of the philanthropy committee for St. Joseph’s Healthcare System for the past 5 years.

Sarah Matthews 

Sarah is Senior Counsel of John Deere Canada ULC. Proudly born and raised in Hamilton, Sarah earned her Honours Bachelor of Arts from the University of Western Ontario and her law degree from the University of Calgary. Sarah recently served on the St. Joseph’s Healthcare Foundation where she was Chair for two years. Sarah lives in Hamilton with her husband, Mike, and their two daughters, Olivia and Victoria.

Sam Mercanti

Sam Mercanti

Sam is the President and CEO of CARSTAR Automotive Inc. and a successful entrepreneur with extensive experience as a company leader in strategic planning, operational excellence, financial success, acquisitions and is a steadfast advocate for an organization staying true to its vision, mission and values. Sam is a key community supporter for activities that improve the quality of life in Hamilton including the Charity of Hope, City Kidz, the Canadian Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, the Hamilton Tiger Cats and a lifelong supporter of fitness activities centered around the Hamilton YMCA.

Dianne MoserJohn Quinlan

John is a chartered accountant and recently retired (2012) as Chief Financial Officer of the Cowan Group of Companies. He has been involved with the Sister's of St. Joseph's since 1992 and past chair of St. Joseph's Hospital (Brantford) and St. Joseph's Lifecare, Brantford. John is a graduate of McMaster University and a lifelong resident of Brantford, Ontario.

Chris SherkChris Sherk

Chris was a member of the previous SJHS Board of Directors as a Sister Appointee. He is a Past Chair of St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton and Past Chair of St. Joseph’s Healthcare Foundation. He has had involvement and has occupied leadership positions in numerous other charitable organizations. Chris is currently the Vice Chair of the SJHS Board of Directors.

Tony ValeriTony Valeri

The Honourable Tony Valeri is Vice President Corporate Affairs, Arcelor Mittal Dofasco. In his previous role as President of Ridge Strategy Group Inc., Mr. Valeri served in an advisory capacity to a number of organizations in matters relating to public affairs, including transportation, finance, trade and parliamentary process. He is the past Chair of the St. Joseph’s Hamilton Healthcare Board of Trustees, Chair of the Quality Committee of St. Joseph’s Health System, and a Board member of the Art Gallery of Hamilton. Mr. Valeri was first elected to the Parliament of Canada in 1993 and re-elected for three more consecutive terms serving as Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance, the Minister of Transport and as the Leader of the Government in the House of Commons.